Exploring Justice: The Ten Commandments

Priorities Cover


This is a five volume series for small groups that examines justice issues through the lens of the Ten Commandments. All proceeds from the sales of these books go to support the work and mission of the Massachusetts Bible Society. The series is in production.

Volume I: Priorities--available now!

No other gods. No graven images. Don't take God's name in vain. Those are the commandments that focus this first volume of our new series: Exploring Justice: The Ten Commandments. Do you think idols are merely statues from a false religion? Think again. 

In this first volume, you'll think about the primary values of your faith and learn the history behind some of today's difficult issues:

  • When did the Pledge of Allegiance change and why?
  • How did Charles "Lucky Lindy" Lindbergh taint the original “America First” movement?
  • Who was the first monarch in history to grant the full freedom of religion and which Christian minister made it happen?
  • How have other nations handled the monuments to a troubled past?
  • How did the Civil War influence the founding of the NRA? 

Then, with exercises that encourage dialogue rather than division, the group sessions will help you think about whether we're really putting God's values first when engaging issues from the NFL protests and Confederate monuments to the Pledge of Allegiance, the First and Second Amendments, separation of church and state, White nationalism, flags in churches, and more.

Like our other resources, Priorities is designed for use by small groups in six, ninety-minute sessions. The student book is currently available in regular print and Kindle editions. There is a student book and a leader’s guide, just like with Exploring the Bible.

Download a free sample chapter here.   (Note: You will be prompted to sign up for the Massachusetts Bible Society email list to receive the download.)

BUY NOW from Amazon.

Priorities Student Book
Priorities Leader's Guide

Read praise for Priorities here

Read more about the entire Exploring Justice series here.

Share this